NC Esports Insider
Behind the scenes of Esports

Q&A: What’s it like being a part of Esports?

Jacob Jones

Drew Morris is student at William Peace University, majoring in Esports & Game Administration, and also a part of the school's Rocket League Esports team. 

He hasn't always been into competitive gaming, and since coming to William Peace, he was granted the opportunity to play competitively with fellow gamers. 

Q: Can you tell me how you got into Esports?
"Well, I was just kind of interested in joining a team or a club and the school said, 'Hey, do you want to be a part of the Rocket League team?' And I just kind of showed up, we played together for a little a bit and they let me join the team."
Q: So, what is your role within the esports team here at Peace?

"'I'm primarily a substitute for the three-man team. And I kind of just switch with William and the other players. One of the other players trade places with each other and swap out alternatively."
Q: How do you think Esports has benefited you?

"Well, it's given me something to do and it's kind of given me some confidence in my abilities. I always thought I was kind of more of an average player, but now that I have some time to practice and play with the team and be more organized, it's given me confidence in how I play. And then it's also given me kind of a look into what I want to do because I'm a major in Esports & Game Administration. So, I think that it's been a good thing for me to be a part of. "
I also got the opportunity to interview another member of the Esports team. Donnie Leahy, one of the founders of the esports program at William Peace University. Majoring in Simulation & Game Design and also a part of the Rocket League team.
Q: What got you interested into Esports?

"I've been playing games ever since I was six. And I always like to be really competitive. So, I started looking into the competitive scene of gaming and I saw that people were playing and earning money from it like it was a job. And I said to myself that I really wanted to do that. And I saw that colleges started to do that, so I wanted to get into that. Me and Clay Whitehurst, we started the Esports program here at William Peace."

Q: So, what is your role within the Esports program here at Peace?

"I am the team captain for the Rocket League team. We also have a Rocket League Coach that coaches the Rocket League team that I'm on. "

Q: How do you think Esports has benefited you so far?

"It's been really cool. We've been able to go and travel and play against other colleges and stuff, which I've never gotten to do. I wanted to get to the competitive scene, and this is the closest I've gotten to doing that. We've competed for money and other big and small titles in the area. Overall, it has been really fun."
William Peace started getting into esports in the Fall Semester of 2021. The Esports & Game Administration major launched with different courses for students to take online and in person. "WPU has three esports teams, each representing their own separate game: Valorant, League of Legends, and Rocket League. These teams launched this year along with the new Esports and Gaming Administration major. The teams use the new state-of-the-art esports lab. While the League of Legends and Rocket League teams are still developing their rosters, the Valorant team is formed and ready for battle. " 

The new esports lab will allow people across other majors like Interactive Design and Simulation & Game Design to also use it for more than just playing. This lab enables our students to dig in and create games and learn about the industry with the latest technology.

As the Esports team begins to develop, we will also see the rise in esports teams and players everywhere. "Video games are booming in the entertainment industry, and thus, esports teams are popping up at universities nationwide. The National Association of Collegiate Esports (NCAE), has 175 college and university members. " I look forward to seeing how much more the program will grow. 
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started